Search Site   
News Stories at a Glance
Palmer resistance to herbicides means cover, cutting needed too
USDA funding set aside to treat rural opioid addiction
Peterson’s dairy bill would replace Margin Protection
Illinois, Iowa soybean growers to Trump: Reconsider China tariffs
Search Archive  
Spotlight on Youth - Nov. 7, 2012
Indiana FFA members honored at national convention

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — The Indiana State Department of Agriculture (ISDA) would like to extend congratulations to our Indiana chapters and members who represented Indiana so well at last week’s 85th National FFA Convention. 

Kayleigh Warner, of Dekalb Central FFA placed first nationally in Agriscience Research – Integrated Systems proficiency contest. Other proficiency finalists include Sloan R. Griggs, Shenandoah FFA, Agricultural Com-munications – Entrepreneurship/ Place-ment; Kara Gunthorp, Prairie Heights FFA  – Agricultural Processing - Entre-preneurship/Placement; Ashley Kincaid, Southmont FFA - Agriscience Research – Animal Systems; Jon D. Liechty, South Adams FFA – Diversified Livestock Production - Entrepreneurship/ Place-ment; Gabriel Diedriech, Danville FFA – Emerging Agricultural Technology - Entrepreneurship/Placement; Andrew Minnich, Jay County FFA – Poultry Production - Entrepreneurship/ Place-ment; and Marissa Murrell, Jay County FFA – Wildlife Production and Manage-ment  - Entrepreneurship/ Placement.

Micah Matlock represented Indiana as its National Officer candidate and proceeded to the final round of interviews.

Shenandoah FFA in Middletown, Ind., was honored with the Models of Innovation, a National Chapter award, while Southmont FFA, of Crawfordsville, Ind., was awarded a Model of Excellence National Chapter award.

Indiana FFA Chapters received a three-star National Chapter award included Carroll@Flora FFA, Clinton Central FFA, Jay County FFA, North Montgomery FFA, Owen Valley FFA, Plymouth FFA, Prairie Heights FFA, Shenandoah FFA, Southmont FFA, Switzerland County FFA, Western Boone  FFA and Woodlan FFA. Indiana FFA Chapters received a two-star National Chapter award included Churubusco FFA, Columbia City FFA, Delphi FFA, Eastbrook FFA and Tri County FFA.

Chapters and individuals receiving a gold emblem in a Career Development Event include: Ag Communications- Shenandoah FFA (fourth team); Ag Issues Forum- Shenandoah FFA (fourth team); Dairy Evaluation- Prairie Heights FFA (seventh team); Dairy Cattle Handler Activity- Annie Achen - Benton Central FFA (third individual); Floriculture- Southmont FFA (15th team); Horse Evaluation- Hamilton Southeastern FFA (fifth team); Horse Evaluation – Hannah Allaben - Hamilton Southeast FFA (fifth individual); Livestock Evaluation- McCutcheon FFA (fifth team); Livestock Evaluation- Heath Harper - McCutcheon FFA (ninth individual); Novice Chapter Meeting Invitational- Eastern Hancock FFA (fourth team).

Chapters and individuals receiving a silver emblem in a Career Development Event include: Ag Sales –Prairie Heights FFA- Silver Team; Ag Technology and Mechanical- Heritage FFA- Silver Team; Environmental and Natural resources- Churubusco FFA- Silver Team; Farm Business Management- Heritage FFA- Silver; Food Science- Alyssa Hoffman - Carroll FFA @ Ft. Wayne- Silver; Food Science- Alyssa Hoffman - Carroll FFA at Ft. Wayne- Silver (fifth Individual); Forestry- Woodlan FFA- Silver Team; Marketing Plan-Prairie Heights- Silver Team; Meats Evaluation- Clinton Central- Silver Team; Milk Quality- Rushville- Silver Team; Nursery/Landscape- Rossville FFA - Silver Team; Parliamentary Procedure- North Miami- Silver Team; Poultry Evaluation- North Miami- Silver Team; Prepared Public Speaking- Cloverdale FFA- Silver Individual and Veterinary Science- Bedford North Lawrence FFA and Rushville FFA – Silver Team.

Chapters and individuals receiving a bronze emblem in a Career Development Event include:Creed Speaking- Rushville FFA - bronze individual; Extemporaneous Speaking – Columbia City FFA- bronze individual; Job Interview- Carroll @ Flora FFA- bronze individual.
In the Agriscience Fair, Jordan Cadle, of Paoli FFA received a Gold Emblem, while Silver Emblem receipients included Garrett Walker and Michelle Gardner - Triton Central FFA; Adeli Kinne and Logan Pike - Switzerland County  FFA; Leah Hefty - Dekalb FFA; Megan Spegal and Zan Black - Triton Central FFA; Alisha Bahler and Cassie Klaus - Tri County FFA; Michael Gardner - Triton Central FFA; Stuart Elder and Brian Miller - Triton Central FFA; Heather Lehe - Tri County FFA; Alexis Pearson and Dakota Westphal - Tri County FFA; Micaela Sheldon and Erika Schneider - Tri County FFA; Jamison Pittman -Triton Central FFA; and Sami Rinard and Megan Shough - Prairie Heights FFA.Brady Gossett and Zach Simpson - Triton Central FFA and Zed Bickett - Tri County FFA both received a Bronze Emblem in the Agriscience Fair.