Search Site   
News Stories at a Glance
Palmer resistance to herbicides means cover, cutting needed too
USDA funding set aside to treat rural opioid addiction
Peterson’s dairy bill would replace Margin Protection
Illinois, Iowa soybean growers to Trump: Reconsider China tariffs
Search Archive  
Names in the News: Feb. 8, 2006
Kentucky pork producers honor KDA’s Beeler, Boone
FRANKFORT, Ky. — Warren Beeler of the Kentucky Department of Agriculture was inducted into the Kentucky Pork Producers Association Hall of Fame during the association’s recent convention. Rayetta Boone, another KDA staff member, received the Outstanding Service Award at the convention Jan. 27-28 in Owensboro, Ky.

Beeler, of Caneyville, joined 15 others in the state pork producers’ shrine. A longtime swine producer, former KPPA president and nationally renowned swine judge, Beeler is assistant director of the KDA’s Division of Value-Added Animal and Aquaculture Production.

“Warren Beeler is one of the most dynamic and recognized swine judges in the United States,” said Mike Ovesen, president of the KPPA. “He will judge everything from the largest shows to the smallest, as long as youngsters are involved. Warren is also one of the greatest swine geneticists in the U.S. He has produced some of the country’s finest breeding stock.

“With the Kentucky Department of Agriculture, Warren has continued his work for the swine industry and for youth in all of agriculture,” Ovesen said.

Beeler has established numerous livestock clinics in Kentucky and other states. Ovesen said he started a judging evaluation clinic at his home that evolved into Kentucky’s popular junior livestock expos.

As a farmer, he has shown four grand champion hogs and two grand champion lambs at the Kentucky State Fair. He was a Pork All-American in 1995. He was named Western Kentucky University Agriculture Alumnus of the Year in 1987.

Boone, a resident of Taylorsville, was honored for her work as assistant director of the KDA’s Division of Agriculture Education, Farm Safety and Farmland Preservation. The division administers the Kentucky Agriculture and Environment in the Classroom program and the Mobile Science Activity Center. Last fall the division launched “Agriculture Adventures: Kentucky,” an entertaining and educational program that teaches agriculture’s role in everyday life.

“Rayetta has dedicated her entire life to teaching young people about the importance of agriculture,” Ovesen said.

Seib elected president of Indiana Soybean Board
INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — Posey County grain farmer Mark Seib, Poseyville, was elected president of the Indiana Soybean Board (ISB) at the January board of directors meeting held in Indianapolis.

Seib and the 2006 ISB directors will oversee the implementation of the new Indiana soybean strategic plan that invests $4 million in soybean checkoff funds into the promotion of biofuels, livestock, grain marketing, technology commercialization, and soybean research.

The board of directors also elected Lynn Teel, Chalmers, vice president; Joe Meyer, Williamsburg, secretary; and Scott Fritz, Winamac, treasurer.

Members elected to the ISB Executive committee are: Jerry Osterholt, Roanoke, Biofuels committee chairman; Mike Yoder, Middlebury, Livestock committee chairman; Doug Morrow, Marion, Grain Marketing committee chairman; Roger Hadley, Woodburn, Commercial-ization & Technology committee chairman; and Louis Rusch, Vincennes, Research committee chairman.

Seib said he’s looking forward to the new job because it’s an exciting time for the state’s soybean industry.

“ISB has invested a lot of time and funds into developing Indiana’s biodiesel industry. I think we’re going to see our efforts payoff in 2006 with rapid growth of biodiesel production facilities that are either planned or currently being built in the state,” added Seib.

Seib and his wife, Sheryl, are partners in Seib Farms with Mark’s father, Alfred, and brother, Wayne. Together they farm 2,500 acres of corn and soybeans in Posey County. Sheryl also owns Kinder Schule Academic Preschool.

ISB’s four new directors who officially started their first three-year term at this meeting included: Bill Peters, Sharpsville; Joe Rush, Walton; Mike Sprinkle, Plainville; and Linda Bacon, Milroy. Trevor Glick, Columbus, will fulfill his deceased father’s term, Myron Glick, during 2006.

Retiring board members honored by ISB during the meeting were: George Morton, Lebanon; Frank Driscoll, Urbana; Tom O’Farrell, Delphi; and Terry Hayhurst, Terre Haute.

This farm news was published in the February 8, 2006 issue of Farm World.