Search Site   
News Stories at a Glance
Palmer resistance to herbicides means cover, cutting needed too
USDA funding set aside to treat rural opioid addiction
Peterson’s dairy bill would replace Margin Protection
Illinois, Iowa soybean growers to Trump: Reconsider China tariffs
Search Archive  
Spotlight on Youth for June 21, 2006
National Jersey scholarship applications are due July 5
REYNOLDSBURG, Ohio — The American Jersey Cattle Association (AJCA) recently announced the availability of seven scholarships for the 2006-2007 academic year.

Individuals who have significant background in breeding, managing, and showing Registered Jersey™ cattle and who are also enrolled in undergraduate or graduate educational programs are encouraged to apply by the deadline of July 5. There are several scholarships available, ranging from $300 to $5,000.

The first William A. Russell Memorial Scholarship for advanced studies in the amount of $5,000 will be presented in 2006. Graduate students or undergraduate students who have completed at least half of the coursework required for their degree in the fields of dairy and animal science, large animal veterinary practice, dairy production or manufacturing, or dairy product marketing are eligible.

For applications and a list of other scholarships available, visit

Applicants must be members (junior or lifetime) of the American Jersey Cattle Association. A minimum grade point average of 2.5 (on a 4.0 scale) is required to apply for these scholarships. A copy of the high school or college transcript must be included with the application form. Applications are available on the Internet at

Applications and transcripts must be received at AJCA office at 6486 E. Main Street, Reynoldsburg, OH 43068-2362 by July 5, 2005. For details, contact Dr. Cherie Bayer, AJCA Director of Development, at 614-861-3636, ext. 334.

Hoosier 4-H team wins national land judging contest
RENSSELAER, Ind. — The Rensselaer 4-H Soil Judging Team won the National Land Judging Contest in Oklahoma City. The team was awarded this honor at a banquet held at the National Cowboy Hall of Fame on May 4. There were 24 4-H teams from across the country competing in this event.

Rensselaer team members included Travis Brandenburg, Gerrett Dobson, Randy Lehman and Chris Morris. The team was coached by Ron Wamsley.

Individually, Randy Lehman was the national champion and Chris Morris was the reserve national champion. Travis Brandenburg placed seventh and Gerrett Dobson placed 20th.

This farm news was published in the June 21, 2006 issue of Farm World, serving Indiana, Ohio, Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan and Tennessee.