Search Site   
News Stories at a Glance
China says it will expand farm imports, drop sorghum tariffs
Shiawassee County officials putting more rules on wind

States’ animal health officials vigilant against illness at fairs

SNAP requirements a big sticking point for farm bill
Search Archive  
Spotlight on Youth - Dec. 12, 2012
Ohio FFA Alumni members attend national convention
INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — At the 2012 National FFA Alumni Convention, held Oct. 24-26 in Indianapolis, Ind. hundreds of FFA Alumni members from nearly every state came together to work toward their common goal: supporting and advocating for FFA and agricultural education and celebrating the FFA Alumni successes while planning future growth. 

Energetic sessions, engaging conversations, recognition of distinguished members and supporters, informative workshops, outstanding tailgate and benefit auction and entertaining performances only begin to describe the Alumni’s National Convention. 

This year marked the return of the FFA Dance and a Tailgate that hosted the live benefit auction. This was the first year since 1985 that the National FFA Alumni convention did not include a silent auction but the tailgate, the dance and the Alumni Nation booth gave attendees many ways to stay engaged, connect with students and companies and rekindle friendships. 

At the business session, Jim McCray of Illinois was selected as the President-Elect, Richard Daniel of North Carolina was elected to the Southern Region and Ron Lynch of Illinois was elected to represent the Eastern Region. Awards were presented to outstanding affiliates and members. The association recognized Luther Wilkes, Georgia, Dean Olson, Illinois and Donna Meller, Ohio; for their dedication and service through the Outstanding Achievement Award. 

Delegates were given the large task of voting in the proposed changes to the National FFA Alumni By-Laws, brought forth by the National FFA Alumni council. The By-Laws last received a formal review in 2003. All of the changes and explanation of changes can be found on the FFA Alumni website, All changes were approved by the voting delegates. Delegates from Ohio were: Jack and Marilyn Mason, Jennifer Kilbarger, Earl and Lillian Beeler, Ed and Rosemary Beeler, Tami Hastings, Jodi Hassan, Cathy Nofziger, Mary Ann Stadler, John and Lexie Poulson.

But the real work – supporting FFA members – was the focal point of the Alumni convention. The annual live auction showcased 12 items for bidding. Items were donated by Alumni members and companies across the country, with $63,000 eventually being raised for scholarships. Each exhibiting company was invited to spend the evening with FFA Alumni at the tailgate and live auction.  

The Alumni Nation, an area specifically dedicated to FFA Alumni in the career show, provided the FFA Alumni Council and volunteers an outstanding opportunity to engage thousands of students, parents, advisors and guests passing through the career show floor. Student members were eager to learn how to remain Forever Blue with the five-year free Associate Membership.

Members from Ohio receiving their Legion of Merit Citations for membership work were: Lolita Appel, Deborah Johlin-Bach, Stacy Brown, Doris Disher, Les Disher, Jim Ford, Lavon Herschberger, Mitzi Martin, John Poulson, Lexie Poulson, Julie Ryan, Vicky Ryan, Beverly Seale, Jamie Snider and Ken Snider.

Ohio was recognized as a 3-Star State and ranks third in the nation in members with 4,219. Ohio received a Gold rating on their newsletter and a Silver Rating on their website.

The National FFA Alumni Association is an organization of more than 52,555 active members all part of 1,390 active Alumni affiliates. The National FFA Organization, formerly known as the Future Farmers of America, is a national youth organization of 523,309 student members – all preparing for leadership and careers in the science, business and technology of agriculture – as part of 7,429 local FFA chapters in all 50 states, Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands. The National FFA Organization changed to its present name in 1988, in recognition of the growth and diversity of agriculture and agricultural education. The National FFA Organization operates under a Federal Charter granted by the 81st Congress of the United States, and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The U.S. Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to state and local agricultural education programs.

Miami Trace FFA competes in national parli-pro contest
INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — Members of the Miami Trace FFA Chapter in Ohio were one of 44 teams participating in the National FFA Parliamentary Procedure Career Development Event (CDE). The event was held in conjunction with the 85th National FFA Convention in Indianapolis, Ind. Molly Garringer, Sarah Peterson, Tanner Mick, Emily Ratliff, Jamie Payton and Daniella Straathof competed with 257 other members from across the country. The team, led by advisor Tracy Dendinger, was awarded a silver emblem.
The team received the fourth best test scores out of the 45 teams that competed. The members of the team became accredited parliamentarians for receiving high scores on the Parliamentary Procedure Test. As accredited parliamentarians, each member of the team can judge a Parliamentary Procedure competition. 
The National FFA Parliamentary Procedure CDE tests students’ ability to effectively communicate ideas during a meeting.
 Components included a general knowledge exam of parliamentary law, a ten -minute demonstration of parliamentary procedure, oral questions, written minutes of the demonstration as well as a team problem solving activity.

Each team competed on local and state levels to earn the privilege of representing their state at the National FFA Convention & Expo. The event, held at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Indianapolis, Ind., is one of many educational activities at the National FFA Convention & Expo in which FFA members practice the lessons taught in agricultural education classes.

Branch Area Careers Center competes in national events
INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — The Branch Area Careers Center (BACC) FFA chapter was well represented at the 85th National FFA convention held Oct. 24-27, 2012 in Indianapolis, IN. BACC had three teams and four individuals competing during the convention with outstanding results. The agricultural sales team consisting of Abigail Schuer, Kathrine Houlihan, Mandy Higbee and Rebecca Flynn received a gold award. Higbee placed fifth overall and Katherine Houlihan placed 19th overall. The livestock judging team consisting of Matt AcMoody, Samantha Griffith, Dalton Hard and Katelyn Walters received a silver award. AcMoody and Hard each received a bronze individual and Griffith and Walters took home a silver individual. The environmental skills team was made up of Abbi Fuller, Michael Holman, Jared Haylett and Devin Morrison received a bronze award.

BACC had four individual agriscience fair projects at National FFA Convention, all of which earned a gold award. Bethany Meyers did an excellent job placing first overall and received the proficiency award, Cailyn Hines received fifth overall, Courtney Souva received sixth place overall, and Renee Souva received seventh overall.