Search Site   
News Stories at a Glance
Still no presidential nominees to several top posts at USDA, EPA
McConnell proposes legalization of industrial hemp across nation
House Ag passes farm bill draft, with Dem concerns
Researchers surprised by E. coli, water supply study
Search Archive  
Names in the News for March 7
American Soybean Association announces winners of contest

TAMPA, Fla. – Leaders of the American Soybean Assoc. (ASA) recently announced the 15 winners of the Reach the Stars contest that ASA is running in partnership with John Deere Ag Management Solutions (AMS).

Each contest winner will have the opportunity to use a premium-level precision ag system, each with a suggested retail price of more than $20,000, on his or her farm for the entire 2007 U.S. growing season. This year, the “Reach the Stars” contest received nearly 400 applications from across the country. Through an independent process of finalist selection, ASA identified a wide range of grower experience and geographic diversity that will test the success of a precision ag system.

The 15 winners are Nathan Wright of Harrisburg, Ark.; Roger Goodwin of Pelham, Ga.; Ted Vinson or Fithian, Ind.; Neal Kuhn of Manilla, Ind.; Luke Smith of Rochester, Ind.; Chris Von Holten of Walnut, Ill.; Scott Chesnut of Boone, Iowa; David Oberbroeckling of Davenport, Iowa; Curtis Clayes of Delmar, Iowa; Dale Seyfred of Galien, Mich.; Ronald Tersteeg of Bird Island, Minn.; Peter Kramer of Gibbon, Minn.; Todd Swanson of Wahoo, Neb.; Colin Dutenhoffer of Aberdeen, S. D.; and Alan Meadows of Halls, Tenn.

The contest prize package includes use of a GreenStar™ AutoTrac™ Assisted Steering System with an AutoTrac Universal Steering Kit, a Starfire™ iTC receiver, and a John Deer SF2 signal activation; a GreenStar™ 2 System, which includes a GreenStar Display 2600 and preloaded GreenStar Basics software; and GreenStar Apex Farm Management software. After the program ends, qualified participants will be offered an opportunity to purchase the entire system, or just components they want to own, at a reduced price.

Farm managers group elect Illinois member as president

DENVER, Colo. – Ray Brownfield of Naperville, Ill. was recently elected president of the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers at the 77th Annual National Convention and Trade Show in Atlanta.

The American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers (ASFMRA), headquartered in Denver, Colo., is a non-profit organization of over 2,100 professionals who provide management, consultation and valuation services for rural and agricultural assets throughout the U.S., Mexico and Canada.

In his new role, Brownfield will provide leadership to the association’s members and the agricultural community. He will be responsible for coordinating the direction of the organization and developing key resources and education tools for the members.

Over the past 35 years, Brownfield has been an active member of the ASFMRA and has chaired many national committees. He is past president of the Illinois chapter and a past district vice president. In 2000, Brownfield was the recipient of the Illinois Society of Professional Farm Manager and Rural Appraisers Hall of Fame Award. He is also an Accredited Farm Manager (AFM) and Accredited Rural Appraiser (ARA) as well as a licensed Illinois Real Estate Broker. Currently, Brownfield serves as the president of Land Pro, LLC and an associate broker for John Greene Land Company in Oswego, Ill.

Brownfield received his bachelor of science in education from the Illinois State University. Brownfield and his wife, Patty reside in DuPage County.

Forestry stewardship award winner announced

BOWLING GREEN, Ky. — Robert Woodling of Unionville, Ind., has recently been named the recipient of the 2006 Hoosier Heartland Outstanding Forestry Stewardship Award.

The Hoosier Heartland Resource Conservation and Development (RC&D) presented Woodling with an engraved plaque at the Council’s annual business meeting on March 5. A deserving award winner, Woodling has carried out timber stand improvement measures and wildlife plantings on his 95 acres for the past 22 years, along with reforestation and other conservation practices that effect clean air and clean water. He has also hosted field days and individual landowner tours on his property in partnership with the Monroe County Soil and Water Conservation District, Indiana Department of Natural Resources, and Purdue University Cooperative Extension Service.

The Hoosier Heartland Resource Conservation and Development Council is a not-for-profit organization of volunteers who connect community needs with funding and expert assistance to implement projects that protect and enhance the environment, quality of life and economic base for residents. Each year the Hoosier Heartland Forestry Committee recognizes an outstanding woodland owner in the ten-county area that comprises the RC&D, including Boone, Brown, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Johnson, Marion, Monroe, Morgan and Shelby Counties.