Search Site   
News Stories at a Glance
Purdue prof: Farmers have right to worry about tariffs
USDA plans buy of cherries to counter Turkish exports
Report recommends response for dairies in next half-century
Trump suspends talks on changes to biofuel policy
Search Archive  
Names in the News for December 21, 2005
Brinkmann re-elected chairman of National Biodiesel Board
JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. — The biodiesel industry re-elected a farmer leader from Carlyle, Ill. to lead the National Biodiesel Board (NBB) during what promises to be a period of intense growth in production and sales. Darryl Brinkmann, who has served as a board member since 1998, will serve as the re-elected chairman of the nonprofit trade association.

All NBB officers were re-elected to the board and to their leadership positions. They are:

•Darryl Brinkmann, chairman, representing the American Soybean Association

•Fred Wellons, vice chairman, representing Baker Commodities, a biodiesel supplier based in Los Angeles, Calif.

•Gary Haer, secretary, representing West Central, a biodiesel supplier based in Ralston, Iowa

•Jerry Osterholt, treasurer, a farmer from Roanoke, Ind., representing the Indiana Soybean Board.

Additionally, two other farmers became newly elected board members. Robert Stobaugh, a farmer representing the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board, and Ed Hegland, a Minnesota farmer representing the state’s Soybean Research & Promotion Council, joined the Governing Board.

Indiana native appointed to national agricultural committee
INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — Lt. Governor Becky Skillman and Indiana Agriculture Director Andy Miller recently commented on the appointment of Lisa Koester of Wadesville, Ind., to the USDA Advisory Committee on Beginning Farmers and Ranchers. Koester and the 20-member committee will be responsible for advising the USDA Secretary on ways to assist aspiring young farmers and ranchers through federal and state programs.

“Lisa is one of Indiana’s best young farmers, and it will be a tremendous asset to the Young Farmers and Ranchers committee to have her on board,” said Lt. Governor Skillman, who also serves as Secretary of Agriculture and Rural Development. “Lisa has a strong farm background and started her own consulting business. She is a progressive young farmer and we know that she will bring those same principles to the table during the upcoming committee meeting.”

Koester is a graduate of Purdue University with Bachelor’s degrees in Agricultural Communication and Agricultural Economics. While staying active in several community and civic organizations, Koester, her husband and his brothers own and operate a dairy and grain operation producing corn, wheat, soybeans and alfalfa.

“Lisa Koester will represent Indiana’s producers and agribusinesses very well and work hard to help create new opportunities for young farmers,” said Miller.

Lechtenberg receives Hovde Award for service to Hoosiers
WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. — Vic Lechtenberg, vice provost for engagement and former dean of Purdue agriculture, was honored for his service to residents of rural Indiana at the Indiana Farm Bureau Convention Dec. 10.

Lechtenberg received the Frederick L. Hovde Award for Excellence in Educational Service to the Rural People of Indiana for his efforts to increase economic development opportunities for the state and to increase funding for research and Extension programs.

“Indiana Farm Bureau and Purdue have a long history of working together for the benefit of Indiana agriculture,” said Don Villwock, president of Indiana Farm Bureau. “We are proud to sponsor this award to recognize one of Indiana’s outstanding educators.” During his 37 years with Purdue, Lechtenberg has participated in education and research at many levels.

He was instrumental in creating the Purdue Council for Agricultural Research, Extension and Training, a network of community leaders who advocate for agricultural research, Extension and training with local, state and national officials. He also nurtured the creation of the Purdue Extension New Ventures Team and the Agricultural Innovation and Commercial-ization Center, two programs that foster economic development in Indiana.

The Hovde Award honors President Hovde’s demand for excellence in research, teaching and service and has been presented annually since 1972.

Published in the December 21, 2005 issue of Farm World.