Search Site   
News Stories at a Glance
Palmer resistance to herbicides means cover, cutting needed too
USDA funding set aside to treat rural opioid addiction
Petersonís dairy bill would replace Margin Protection
Illinois, Iowa soybean growers to Trump: Reconsider China tariffs
Search Archive  
Spotlight on Youth: February 8, 2006
Parkway FFA wins the District Parliamentary Procedure Contest

The Parkway FFA Parliamentary Procedure Team placed first at the district competition held at Hardin Northern High School on Dec. 1.

The team consists of Katie King, president; Jessica Suman, vice president; Ashley Gamble, secretary; Elizabeth Smith, reporter; Felicia Quaintance, treasurer; Megan Smith, sentinel; Shannon Myers, advisor; Ethan Hayes, member; and Sara King, member. The team is coached by FFA advisor Alan Post.

The Parkway FFA Parliamentary Procedure Team competed at the state competition on Dec. 17, 2005. This was the teamís third straight trip to the state competition. They placed third in their room at the state competition scoring a total of 1,163 points.

In other chapter news, the Parkway FFA recently held its annual citrus fruit sales. The citrus that the chapter sold included: navel oranges, tangelos and pink grapefruit.

They also sold Fuji, Red Delicious, and Gold Delicious apples. The chapter also sold an assortment of nuts, Dirt Squad hand cleaner and fruit baskets.

Parkway sold a total of $24,900 and 1,030 total boxes of fruit.

Ohio FFA students receive Greenhand Degree

ST. PARIS, Ohio ó Students in Agriculture Science I and members of the A.B. Graham/Ohio Hi-Point FFA chapter at Graham High School received their Greenhand FFA Degree on Dec. 19 during their monthly FFA meeting.

Members were presented with a bronze pin and a certificate by the chapterís FFA officer team. After the Greenhand FFA Degree ceremony members, parents and guests were served light refreshments.

A.B. Graham/Ohio Hi-Point students awarded the Greenhand FFA Degree included: Malachi Ankrom, Jeremy Baker, Brandi Barbee, Bethany Bazzle, Jena Dyke, Darby Flanigan, Jeremy Harvey, Dylan Lambert, Andrew Lemmon, Sara Nave, Jesse Shockey, Micheal Smith, Todd Woods, Jaclyn Bowen, Monte Dyke, Bethany Elliott, Kyle Garber, Christopher Hart, Rachel Richart, Michael Rouch, Bretannia Spence and Jacob Welty.

-Submitted by Amy Ropp, A.B. Graham/Ohio Hi-Point FFA Chapter Reporter

This farm news was published in the February 8, 2006 issue of Farm World.