Search Site   
News Stories at a Glance
Economist: Farmers may gain more markets if tariffs kick in
Trump rallies Elkhart crowd behind border wall, election
Trump gives approval to year-round sales of E15, as of '19

USDA estimating less crop stock for new market year

Search Archive  
Spotlight on Youth for March 15, 2006
Ft. Recovery FFA awards Greenhand FFA Degrees
Ft. Recovery, Ohio — On January 9, the Ft. Recovery FFA Chapter held its Greenhand FFA Degree Ceremony. The Greenhand FFA Degree was awarded to 27 first-year members enrolled in an Agriscience class.

The Greenhand FFA Degree is the first degree that an FFA member can receive. This year’s recipients include: freshmen Justin Alt, Tiffany Fields, Kevin Fullenkamp, Chris Gehret, Travis Hart, Jordan Hess, Jenna Jutte, Kevin Jutte, Chelsea Klenke, Lucas Knapke, Beverly Lennartz, Greg Lennartz, Mitchell Link, Adam Lochtefeld, Amanda Muhlenkamp, Dave Osterholt, Justin Schoenlein, Curtis Schroer, Leah Scott, Brennan Siefring, Kelly Sudhoff, Tommy Staugler, Kelly Thien, Melissa Tobe, Rachel Tobe, Matt Wendel and Tom Will.

All degree recipients were awarded their bronze Greenhand FFA pin to wear on their FFA jackets. The members will also be recognized at the annual FFA banquet in April.

NJSA announces outstanding member scholarship winners
WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. — The National Junior Swine Association (NJSA) awarded its annual outstanding member scholarships to seniors Seth Hoelscher, Hereford, Texas, and Katey Brattain, Greencastle, Ind. ($1,000); intermediate Emily Arkfeld, Dunbar, Neb. ($300); junior Kane Austin, Mt. Vernon, Ill. ($200); and novice Cailyn Hines, Qunicy, Mich. ($100). The scholarships were scored on a combination of youth leadership activities, NJSA leadership and associated affiliate leadership, interest in swine industry and scholastic excellence.

Katey Brattain, 20, is the daughter of Kent and Kim Brattain of Greencastle, Ind. She is a junior at Purdue University where she is an Animal Science Ambassador and active member of the Purdue Block and Bridle Club. She serves as the 2005-06 NJSA president and chairman of the Mentoring Values People program (MVP). Brattain was named the Indiana Purebred Swine Queen last summer at the state fair.

Kane Austin, 11, is the son of Steve and Holly Austin of Mt. Vernon, Ill. He attends Field Grade School in Texico. He became involved in NJSA in 2002 when he attended the NJSS. In 2005, Austin won the NJSS Junior Sweepstakes Contest. He finished third in the judging contest, fourth in the skillathon and tenth in showmanship. Austin enjoys competing in judging contests as a member of the Marion County 4-H Judging Team.

Cailyn Hines, 7, is the daughter of Brian and Donna Hines of Quincy, Mich. She attends Jennings Elementary School. She competes at the NJSS, World Pork Expo Junior National, Eastern Regional and NAILE. Hines won the novice sweepstakes contest at the 2004 Eastern Regional and showmanship at the 2005 Eastern Regional and 2005 NAILE. In 2005, she exhibited the Champion and Reserve Champion Bred-and-Owned Hampshire Gilts at the Eastern Regional.

The 2006 scholarship applications will be due Dec. 1, 2006, to the NSR Office. For more information, contact the NSR Director of Junior Activities, P.O. Box 2417, West Lafayette, IN 47996-2417, or call 765-463-3594, or e-mail

BHC hosts 21st annual BHE Livestock Judging Invitational
KEWANEE, Ill. — Black Hawk College, East Campus (BHE) recently held the 21st annual BHE Livestock Judging Invitational.

The contest was coordinated by the BHE Livestock Judging Team with classes officiated by sophomore members of the BHE Livestock Judging Team. It consisted of two divisions - Questions and Reasons - with 4-H and FFA teams and individuals judging together.

The Questions Division had 139 contestants and 31 teams. The top three teams were Carlinville FFA of Carlinville, Ill., first; Fieldcrest FFA of Minonk, Ill., second; and Eureka FFA of Eureka, Ill., third. The top three individuals were Sam Greenwalt of Carlinville, first; Brad Pilcher of Ford Iroquois 4-H of Watseka, Ill., second; and Nate Schmidgall of Eureka FFA, third.

The Reasons Division had 76 contestants and 16 teams. The top three teams were Eastern Hancock FFA of Indiana, first; Clinton Central FFA of Indiana, second; and Whitko FFA of Indiana, third. The top three individuals were Evan Matlock of Eastern Hancock FFA, first; Kyle Jacobs also of Eastern Hancock FFA, second; and Linzey Terrill of Whitko FFA, third.

This farm news was published in the March 15, 2006 issue of Farm World.